I don’t mean to gossip, but…

“I don’t mean to gossip, but did you hear…”

These were the first words I heard when I walked into my normal workout area at the gym. As I headed for the TRX, I had to pass the two gossip ladies who are always hoarding equipment but rarely using it on account of their constant chatter (thank God I don’t need to use the pink hand weights and jazzercise steps). They’re always there when I am. Always. And I always have to hear about whose life is in shambles, who needs to wear less makeup, who has the worst hygiene, and ohmygoshjustmakeitstop.

But today’s gossip gave me a little more insight into just how sickening it is. Today the conversation revealed enough to me that I was able to determine that these two dressed-alike-hand-weight-hoarding ladies are talking about folks that go to their church.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that this probably doesn’t surprise anyone. Gossip is one of the easiest and oldest forms of self gratifying behavior. And the church is definitely not immune to it. I’m not going to get all deep and theological on this one – it should be obvious enough. When you climb over others to glorify yourself, you will always look back and see that you left the gospel behind. 

If this is something you struggle with – if you are in the habit of climbing over others’ reputations in order to feel better about yourself – do something about it. Gossip is a cancer that will destroy a church from the inside out. I don’t care how messed up others’ lives are. I don’t care how badly you think someone else needs to change. The point is that there are proper ways to graciously correct a fellow Christian. You have to change your behavior. I don’t care if that means going to a friend for some accountability, or simply exercising a little bit of self control…just stop hurting the church.

Ephesians 4:1-3
The Voice (VOICE)
As a prisoner of the Lord, I urge you: Live a life that is worthy of the calling He hasgraciously extended to you. Be humble. Be gentle. Be patient. Tolerate one another in an atmosphere thick with love. Make every effort to preserve the unity the Spirit has already created, with peace binding you together.

Share your thoughts...

